Hindi Lesson 1

On April 1st, 2014, Posted by admin, No Comments

Get a head start in learning Hindi- Begin with our Hindi lesson 1

If you are looking to learn Hindi, the very first Hindi lesson to start with is to familiarize yourself with the script. Hindi language is written in Devanagari script. There are 11 vowels and 36 consonants in Hindi Alphabet. Right below we have prepared Hindi lesson 1 for your understanding.

Here are the vowels and its symbols (Maatraas) with Roman accents in Velthuis style of transliteration for easy to understand.



अ      आ     इ        ई       उ        ऊ         ऋ        ए         ऐ       ओ        औ

a      aa     i        ii       u        uu        .r         e        ai       o        au


The vowels are complete and independent letters and except  अ, each vowel has a symbol, also known as, the Maatraa.

Symbols ( मात्राएँ)

अ has no maatraa

आ (ा)      इ (ि )     ई (ी )     उ (ु )     ऊ (ू )     ऋ (ृ )      ए (े )     ऐ (ै )     ओ (ो )     औ (ौ )

There are three more symbols and they come under the name आयोगवाह

1 अनुस्वार या बिंदी :-  (ं ) अं

2 अनुनासिक या चन्द्रबिंदु   आँ

3 विसर्ग:- (ः ) अः

In the next chapter we will learn about consonants.

We hope you liked your Hindi lesson 1. Do share your feedback. You can also connect with us through your Google+, Facebook or Twitter accounts below.

Comments are closed.